Lifestyle

…I wish you enough…

I once said Goodbye to someone I cared about and my parting wish was that they would find “enough”. I knew what I meant but could not really explain. Then some years later I read this story…

Recently I overheard a mother and daughter saying their goodbye’s at the airport. The mother was elderly and it was obvious that they both thought these would be their last moments together. Standing near the security gate, they hugged and the mother said “I love you and I wish you enough.” The daughter replied, “Mom, our life together has been more than enough. Your love is all I ever needed. I wish you enough, too, Mom.” They kissed and the daughter disappeared through the departure gate.

The mother walked over to the window where I was seated and so I asked her, “When you were saying good-bye, I heard you say ‘I wish you enough’. May I ask what that means?” She began to smile. “It is a wish that has been passed down the generations in our family”.

When we say ‘I wish you enough’ we want the other person to have a life filled with just enough good things to sustain them“. Then turning towards me she shared the following as if she were reciting it from memory:

“I wish you enough sun to keep your attitude bright.
I wish you enough rain to appreciate the sun more.
I wish you enough happiness to keep your spirit alive.
I wish you enough pain so that the smallest joys in life appear much bigger.
I wish you enough gain to satisfy your wanting.
I wish you enough loss to appreciate all that you possess.
I wish you enough “Hello’s” to get you through the final “Goodbye.”

How many people spend days, weeks, years toiling, striving, searching for “enough”…only to realise that they don’t even know what it means. Today’s society seems to want to force upon us a view of “enough” whether this be the images of the perfect family unit, the sports car or detached house, a fancy job title, the ideal physique…

Do your best at school…so you will always have enough…work hard and earn good money….so you will always have enough…put something aside every week…so you will always have enough…take the extra hours when you can…so you will always have enough…try something different…you may still not have enough…

Very few people ever find “enough” chasing around this vicious circle and yet that is often the way life seems to map out for so many…a never ending search which eats up time and energy and sucks the very life out of life.

If you ever find yourself wondering if you have enough I urge you to re-read this story….to focus on trying to appreciate the little bits of enough you already have in your life every single day.

You only need “enough” to sustain you…

…enough “Hello’s” to get you through the inevitable final “Goodbye.”

Senior mother and daughter huggingjpglarge

(The story quoted is an adapted version but I believe the original story was written by Bob Perk in his book “I wish you enough” published in 2009.)

Leave a Reply

